More sites will be added and sites will be edited with more information in the future.

If you have any information on the town or the sites listed below please email: tamaquahistoricalwalkingtour@gmail.com


Sites that are included on the Walking Tour

Tamaqua Historical Society Museum
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

Tamaqua Historical Society Museum

The present day home to the Tamaqua Historical Society Museum, at 118 West Broad St., was built in 1905 as the First National Bank of Tamaqua. It merged with the Miners National Bank of Pottsville in 1960. In 1986 the miners National Bank Tamaqua Office, built a new bank on East Broad St. in order to offer drive thru banking. In 1988, the former bank was donated to the Tamaqua Historical Society for establishment of a local history museum.

Read More
Anthracite Bank of Tamaqua
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

Anthracite Bank of Tamaqua

The Anthracite Bank of Tamaqua located at 133 West Broad St. was built in 1850 and served as Tamaqua’s first banking institution. The bank was established by Prominent Tamaqua businessman, William Donaldson.

Read More
First United Methodist Church
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

First United Methodist Church

Today’s First United Methodist Church located at 124 West Broad Street, was built in 1852 and originally known as, “The Methodist Church.” In 1968, “The Methodist Church,” merged with the Evangelical United Brethren Church forming a new congregation at this location known as, “The First United Methodist Church.”

Read More
Former Bischoff Undertaking Home
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

Former Bischoff Undertaking Home

The currently vacant building at 115 West Broad St. was once home to Tamaqua’s oldest undertaking home, Bischoff Undertaking. The Bischoff family also owned a wood turning mill which still stands on present day Lafeyette St. where they made wooden coffins for their undertaking business as well as fine wood home furnishings.

Read More
The Tamaqua Masonic Lodge
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

The Tamaqua Masonic Lodge

Located on the corner of West Broad and Nescopeck Streets stands a large art deco style building which was once home to the Tamaqua Masonic Lodge. Many fraternal organizations were once an important part of the social and fraternal activities of this thriving town. Today, the Tamaqua Masonic Lodge is still an active organization but moved to a more modern and smaller building in nearby Hometown.

Read More
Tamaqua Area School District Admin. Building
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

Tamaqua Area School District Admin. Building

The present day home of the Tamaqua Area School District Administration offices, located at the corner of West Broad and Nescopeck Streets, was originally a grand Victorian mansion built by prominent Tamaqua businessman, Henry A. Weldy. Established in the mid 1800s, Weldy was owner of the sprawling H.A. Weldy Gunpowder Works located just above Tamaqua near Taggartsville and Mintzers Station. He built this grand Victorian mansion as his residence circa 1870s, but only resided here for a few years before deciding to build an even bigger mansion on Pine Street, after acquiring a choice piece of land there.

Read More
Tamaqua Elk's Lodge
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

Tamaqua Elk's Lodge

The Tamaqua Benovolent and Protective Order of Elk’s Lodge was built in 1906, on the corner of West Broad Street and Nescopeck Street. The Tamaqua Elks is still an active fraternal organization in Tamaqua. This building is also considered the most haunted building in Tamaqua. Strange happenings have been witnessed on the vacant third floor of this building for many years. Over the years, three people who were visiting and using the rooms on the third floor as temporary lodging, have been found dead in those rooms the next morning. The building even appeared on an episode of the show, “Ghost Detectives.”

Read More
American Legion Home
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

American Legion Home

The Tamaqua American Legion Home, located at 206 West Broad Street, is located in the former grand home of Tamaqua businessman E.J. Fry who operated a hardware store down the street.

Read More
George Ormrod House
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

George Ormrod House

Built in the late 1860s to early 1870s, the George Ormrod House is a house designed in the Late Victorian, Stick Style. It was the first building in Schuylkill County listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The house was commissioned by George Ormrod, a prominent English businessman who was a superintendent at the Raven Run (now Saint Nicholas) colliery.

Read More
St. Jerome’s Church and School
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

St. Jerome’s Church and School

The original church was founded by Father Arthur Wainwright in 1833. Research indicates that the original church was torn down in 1855. The church that stands there today was completed in 1861.

Read More
Calvary Episcopal Church
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

Calvary Episcopal Church

In 1850 a piece of land was secured from the Little Schuylkill Navigation Railroad and coal company to build a church. The church was built in 1852.

Read More
Odd Fellows Cemetery
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

Odd Fellows Cemetery

The Tamaqua Odd Fellows Lodge began in the year 1843. At one point it was one of the largest lodges in Pennsylvania. However, the cemetery itself was incorporated in 1865.

Read More
Kellner’s Slaughterhouse and Ice Dam
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

Kellner’s Slaughterhouse and Ice Dam

The Kellner’s ice dam and slaughterhouse was located at the north end of Pitt Street. Cattle, pigs, and lambs would come to Tamaqua mostly by train and were offloaded from cattle cars at the intersection of Rowe and Swatara Street.

Read More
Hegarty Blacksmith Shop
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

Hegarty Blacksmith Shop

The Hegarty Blacksmith Shop was founded by Thomas Hegarty. He opened the shop in 1848 and stayed there for 52 years. His son, John P. Hegarty took over in 1900.

Read More
Old Tamaqua Borough Hall and Citizens Fire Co.
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

Old Tamaqua Borough Hall and Citizens Fire Co.

In 1914 the borough built a town hall, police department, town jail, and fire company on the tip of Rowe Street. The building still stands today exclusively used by the Citizens Fire Company.

Read More
Tamaqua Passenger Station
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

Tamaqua Passenger Station

The Tamaqua Railroad Station was built in 1874 by the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad. An addition was added in the year 1880. A freight house was also attached in 1885.

Read More
Railroad Roundhouse
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

Railroad Roundhouse

Large enough to hold 21 steam engines, the Tamaqua “Roundhouse” was built in 1857. It employed 90 men who mostly repaired engines.

Read More
Tamaqua Arts Center
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

Tamaqua Arts Center

The building where the Tamaqua Arts Center is today was built in the mid to late 1800s. When it was built the building was known as the First Salem United Methodist Church.

Read More
American Hose Company Bulding
Gabriel Conville Gabriel Conville

American Hose Company Bulding

Reliance Hook and Ladder Company of 1860, was a small fire company in Tamaqua. However in 1878, the group re-organized and called themselves the American Hose Company.

Read More