George Ormrod House

The image above is a postcard from 1909 of the George Ormrod house (on the left) and the building next to the house that used to be a Presbyterian church.

Built in the late 1860s to early 1870s, the George Ormrod House is a house designed in the Late Victorian, Stick Style. It was the first building in Schuylkill County listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The house was commissioned by George Ormrod, a prominent English businessman who was a superintendent at the Raven Run (now Saint Nicholas) colliery. He later married a local Tamaqua woman.  He then moved to the Lehigh Valley and was one of the 5 founding fathers of the Lehigh Portland Cement Company and had the workers' town named after him, “Ormrod”.  The house features a three story tower. It also contains 2 different eras of Victorian stained glass and stained glass that dates back to the civil war era.  This house is located at 218 West Broad Street.  This block of houses was the first era of upscale and varied Architectural Styles houses, featuring many other prominent business men of the time.

Previous
Previous

American Legion Home

Next
Next

St. Jerome’s Church and School