St. Jerome’s Church and School


The first image is a postcard from 1910 (it was taken before the school was built). The second is a colored postcard from 1940.
The original church was founded by Father Arthur Wainwright in 1833. Research indicates that the original church was torn down in 1855. The church that stands there today was completed in 1861. This church is constructed of mountain stone, but was later refaced with yellow brick facade. The congregation merged with St. Peter and Paul's Lithuanian Catholic church (on Pine Street) to start a new joint congregation named St. Johns XXIII now occupies the church building on Pine Street. St Jerome’s had a cemetery and school beside it. The four story brick building adjacent to the school (where the St Jerome’s Catholic school used to be) was finished in 1921. The house on the other side of the church was then turned into a convent.