Calvary Episcopal Church

The photo above is a postcard of the church, post marked Tamaqua, 1916.
In 1850 a piece of land was secured from the Little Schuylkill Navigation Railroad and Coal Company to build a church. The church was built in 1852. It was constructed of natural mountain stone. The church was without a rector until 1871. Later a pipe organ was installed around 1879. It was taken out in 1915. The Austin Organ Company installed a new one costing $1,900.