Hegarty Blacksmith Shop

The Image above is of the Hegarty Blacksmith shop. The photo was taken in 1974.

The Hegarty Blacksmith Shop was founded by Thomas Hegarty. He opened the shop in 1848 and stayed there for 52 years. His son, John P. Hegarty, took over in 1900. John then retired and his son John Joseph took over. At this point the business mainly was made up of steel and iron forging and tool sharpening. John then died in 1973. However the Hegarty family, out of the wishes from John, donated the shop to the Tamaqua Historical Society in 1976.

Previous
Previous

Kellner’s Slaughterhouse and Ice Dam

Next
Next

Old Tamaqua Borough Hall and Citizens Fire Co.