Tamaqua Passenger Station



The images above are all pictures of the Tamaqua Train Station. The first is a drawing of the station in 1913, the second is a modern picture of the station, and the third is a stamp from Forever USA. The stamp was from a line of train stations around America (the line of stamps were made in 2023).
The Tamaqua Railroad Station was built in 1874 by the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad. An addition was added in the year 1880. A freight house was also attached in 1885. The station was a stopping point for passengers that were traveling from Williamsport to Eastern cities, like Philadelphia. In 1961 the last passenger train left the station. Then in 1980 the station was abandoned and was damaged due to a fire in 1981. The building was then added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1985. The station survived many demolition threats and was restored by the help of the Tamaqua Historical Society and the Tamaqua S.O.S. (Save Our Station). The station now is a restaurant.