Railroad Roundhouse
Large enough to hold 21 steam engines, the Tamaqua “Roundhouse” was built in 1857. It employed 90 men who mostly repaired engines. The Roundhouse was very well liked among the scientific community which claimed it to be an engineering triumph. This was mainly because of its teepee type roof with no center ground supports. Unfortunately the original Roundhouse was destroyed, in 1896, to build a new one. Today the area is a shopping plaza and parking lot.